Outstanding people and initiatives from the peace through sport movement to be distinguished on November 1st in Sochi. Peace and Sport, l’Organisation pour la Paix par le Sport, has announced the list of nominees for the Peace and Sport Awards 2012 which will be given on November 1st in Sochi, at the occasion of the Peace and Sport International Forum. A prestigious jury including seven distinguished personalities including HRH Princess Sarah Al-Feisal and FIFA director Walter Gagg has been set to elect the laureates. They will have to choose among the selection of 15 organizations and initiatives embodying the power of sports to unite communities.

Launched in 2008, the Peace and Sport Awards pay tribute to people and initiatives in sport which have made an outstanding contribution to peace and social stability in the world during the previous year. The winners have initiated projects that give a highly visible example of how sport can promote dialogue and build bridges between divided communities. They are selected by a jury of eminent, independent personalities, deeply invested in peace-promotion.

The Peace and Sport Awards Ceremony is held each year during the Gala Evening of the Peace and Sport International Forum. Former winners include: IAAF, FIFA, International Table Tennis Federation (ITTF), Skateistan, Play Soccer, Puma.Peace, Barclays… The Peace and Sport Champion of the Year Award was created last year and attributed to Gustavo Kuerten.


Related Links